Consequences

I have learnt about two things today which are to get used to work in a team and to ask for direction from the right person.

Being a newbie at a new place, I have no idea about how things work around here, so no matter how good I am at being independent and manage myself without help from the people around me, the information and documents I gathered by myself may not apply to the updated version. It is important to mingle around with my co-workers so that I can discuss my issues and make sure the information I receive is valid. As an introvert, I find it very difficult to talk to people and often needed some time to calm myself from freaking out. However, I have been meeting different people today and they were very welcoming when I come to their room. I should meet them more often so that we’ll get used to each other and become comfortable to talk about work. I received an advice from my extrovert friend, who suggested me to give souvenirs to my co-workers and it has to be specifically food because let’s be honest, who does not love free food? All of us do and nobody will turn down food. That is what I will be doing next week. I hope it will open their heart to me, and I can get used to coming into their room and talk to them.

I have also learnt the hard way today that I have been asking for direction from the wrong people the past weeks. They were either not involved in the syllabus or they do not look at my documents properly perhaps because it is not up to them whether the documents will be approved or not. Had I asked the panelists right from the start, would I’ve been done with the task two weeks ago? I had also misunderstood the sequence of the task and ended up getting the final approval before getting the final check. How funny is that? Thankfully they didn’t ask too many questions and trusted me with the task. I’ve vowed not to betray their expectation anymore. Thankfully, the people in this institution are people with wonderful heart. I was expecting scoldings, but the people here are flexible and negotiable.

Today, I have unlocked a new achievement, I’ve challenged myself to go beyond my comfort zone. I may not be completely out of my zone, at least one of my feet is and I’m ready to attempt again.

Leave a comment